The religious history of the villages of Longriggend, Caldercruix, Plains and Greengairs have long been intertwined with many families, whose descendants still live in the area today, moving freely between them. for work, housing and marriage. The churches of St Mary's, St Davids and St Dominics likewise have had historical links going back to the nineteenth century.
The need to combine parishes in the 21st century due to lack of priests and diminishing church attendances made the combining of the three parishes of Caldercruix, Plains and Greengairs an obvious if not welcome progression. However the new parish name, by retaining the identity of the individual churches, gives deference to the rich history of the area, the individual parishes and their parishoners past and present.
CLICK ON IMAGE TO SEE MORE DETAILS
In 1835 there were 800 Catholics in the region of Airdrie and by 1838 there were 1100. They had no priest or place of worship, but were served by the Clergy of St. Andrew's, Glasgow, who used to say Mass in Airdrie once a month from 1830 till 1840. Mass was at first said in the Masons' Lodge, High Street, afterwards in a rented room in Bell Street, until a room was secured in Bride-well Lane, now Market Street which is the small lane to the rear of the police station. Like many of the Chapels created at this time these also served as schools to educate the faithful and were the foundation of our catholic schools today.
In 1839 St Margaret’s in Airdrie was opened which provided pastoral support to the surrounding area including the villages of Longriggend, Caldercruix, Plains, Whiterigg, Stanrigg, Darngavel and Greengairs with many in these villages walking each Sunday to mass in St Margarets
The Catholic population in the area continued to grow and parishes were formed in Longriggend in 1879 and subsequently in Greengairs, Whiterigg, Caldercruix and Plains